Lynn was born in Shawnee, Oklahoma and lived there on a farm until his family moved to Oklahoma City when he was thirteen. He graduated from Capitol Hill High School in 1961 and attended the University of Oklahoma where he graduated in 1965 with a Bachelor of Arts and Science degree with a history major and a political science minor and was commissioned as a 2nd Lt. in the USAF. He continued his studies in the School of Law at OU and was graduated with a Juris Doctorate degree in 1968. While in Law School, he was a member of Phi Delta Phi legal fraternity.

When Lynn turned twenty-one in July 1964, he registered Republican and cast his first presidential vote for Barry Goldwater.

After four years service as a Captain in the USAF, he and his wife, Donna Grimes Windel, also a Capitol Hill and OU graduate, and their two children, Dawn and Lance, returned to Oklahoma. After a brief employment as a Trust Officer with First National Bank and Trust Co. in downtown Oklahoma City, he joined a law firm in Madill, Oklahoma and he and his family moved there where their third child, Laura, was born. The family later moved to Ardmore in 1988.

He has been a partner in the Little Law Firm, PLLC, since 1973 with offices in Madill, Oklahoma. He currently practices in the area of probate, land sale contracts and title opinions.

Lynn Windel was elected Republican National Committeeman ("RNC") for Oklahoma at the Republican State Convention in May 1992. There are three members of the RNC elected from each State and Territory for a total of 168 members. When he left the committee in 2008, he ranked 25th in seniority on the committee. Prior to his election to the committee, he had served as Marshall County Chairman from 1974-1982, State Party Vice-Chairman from 1982 to 1985 when Nancy Apgar was Chairman, and as Carter County Chairman from 1989-1992.

Lynn represented the Southern Region of the Republican National Committee on the Budget Committee. He was one of seven members on that committee. He was first elected to this committee in 1994 and was re-elected without opposition until he did not seek re-election to the National Committe e in 2008.

He has served as a Delegate to the Republican National Conventions in Detroit 1980, Houston 1992, San Diego 1996, Philadelphia 2000, New York 2004 and St. Paul, Minnesota 2008 and as an alternate delegate to the Convention in Dallas in 1984.

Lynn currently serves on the following Oklahoma Republican Party committees:

1) State Committee
2) Candidate recruitment committee
3) Dewey F. Bartlett Trust

Lynn served as the Campaign Committee Chair of the Frank Simpson for Senate campaign and the Tommy Hardin for State Representative campaign and on the Advisory Committee for the Josh Brecheen for Senate campaign in the 2010 election cycle.

Areas of Practice

Business Law & Commercial Litigation
Estate Planning
General Civil Litigation
Real Estate


Phone: (580) 795-3397
Fax: (580) 795-5072

Our Team

David Dunn
Jackie Harp
Jeffery S. Landgraf
Cheree D. Lindamood
Dan Little
Carmen J. Scott
Tosha Szenasi
Kristen Warren
Tina Weaver
J. Lynn Windel
Christie Yow